Don’t Try This

I don’t know what possessed me to do this . . . risk-taking at a miniscule level maybe.  I mean, it’s not like I just climbed Half Dome without a rope.  I had my camera in the car (as usual) so managed to snap this picture as I was driving down the road.  Doing a little over the 45 mph speed limit but what the heck. (And I added a special effect just for the whiz! factor).

One of the things about risk-taking is that most people are afraid of failing so they don’t even try.  As a single mother years ago, I had to take risks.  If I didn’t, I wouldn’t have been able to support my kids.  So I went for that new job, the one that paid better.  And I went for buying a new car, even though I knew I would have payments.  But if I hadn’t, the old car would not have served us to get from point A to point B.

The funny thing about taking risks is that when you do it and the risk pays off, there’s a feeling of euphoria.  Atta girl!  When it doesn’t pay off, there’s a feeling of failure.  I think that’s what most people fear.  But like a good friend of mine always said, “Nothing beats a failure but a try.”  So getting past the thought of failure is the only thing that will allow you to take small risks.

Why not start with something small?  You know what that is and if you don’t right now, it will come to  you. (Maybe NOT drive down the street, taking a photo of your speedometer). 🙂

A friend of mine is working on a plan to stop smoking.  Bravo!  You can do it.  If the motivation is there, the plan and the implementation will follow.  I support you and your health will thank you for it!!!!!

Namaste.

Author: Regina

Passionate about writing, photography, and helping others achieve the success they desire.

Say something! Let me know what you're thinkin' ...

