The Tree of Knowledge

Today’s photo is of the “Tree of Knowledge” outside my local library.  There are libraries all over the world and aren’t we fortunate to have them?  And with the advent of online “everything” we now have the option to reserve books at libraries from the comfort of our own computers.  But I’ve always liked to actually go to the physical locations of libraries and bookstores.  There’s nothing like walking by a book and having it reach out to you, whispering “pick me up and read me for I have new knowledge for you.”  Don’t laugh – it’s how I found the Conversations with God trilogy in the 90’s and I haven’t been the same since.

Tree of Knowledge Bronze Sculpture

The Tree of Knowledge, according to some religions, speaks to us of good and evil; what it was like before we entered into dualistic lives.  Good and evil; light and dark, right and wrong.  You know … all the stuff that was drilled into us as children.  Yes, I believe it all has its place as we’re growing up but I question most of that dogma now.  I realize that a lot of what I learned as a kid is based in fear. Now I simply want to live by what feels right to me, searching my heart, not my head, for most of my answers. As an adult, I get to make decisions that don’t allow people to take advantage of me in the name of being “good.”

As always, click the image to enlarge it.  Namaste.

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I love the sculpture, and like you I have a love for books and libraries. We are fortunate. Thanks for the post! Cheers…

    Like

  2. This picture is so impressive. looking at this picture makes me think
    of, food for thought. I think that word fear played a big part, in how
    many of us felt growing up. Having choices, and being able to make
    our own decision, good are bad. Is such a blessing. I remember my
    sister saying many times, when we became adults. You know what, we
    get to do what ever we want, what a concept. Have a great day.

    Like

  3. Thanks for your comments. I appreciate your thoughts and taking the time to share them with me.

    Like

Say something! Let me know what you're thinkin' ...

