Behind the Wheel

Normally I don’t just sit around in my car taking pictures of myself, but today there was something appealing about just being in that moment.  Just being me alone in the car with my camera.  I sat there thinking how good the sun felt coming in through the window, how long I had been driving (40+ years), and just how grateful I am to have good transportation that gets me from Point A to Point B.

I like driving; I always have.  The day I turned 16, my mother took me to get my license and the rest is history.  Back in the day, to pass the driving test, you had to know how to parallel park.  Uh-oh, that was the one thing I wasn’t very good at.  It took me nine (yes, nine) tries and the examiner passed me.  Was he supposed to give me nine tries?  I really doubt it.  I only know that I was one ecstatic 16-year old that day.  Got to drive my Mom back to work and I had the car the rest of the day until I picked her up.  I felt like such a big shot.

As I’ve learned over the years, a vehicle can be such a blessing or it can be a dangerous, deadly weapon.  With people texting and cell-phone chattering from behind the wheel these days, it has become increasingly dangerous to be out on the road.  Please be careful out there.  Don’t text and drive.  Your guardian angels work hard enough! Pay attention to what you’re doing … driving.  And really, really look out for the “other guy.”  It’s more important now than ever. Remember, driving is not a right … it’s a privilege.

Namaste.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh my goodness, I LOVE the feeling of sun beaming through the windows while I’m driving! This is such a sweet picture 🙂

    Like

    1. Me, too! Thanks for the like and the follow. We only have a little over 300 days to go 🙂

      Like

  2. Frank Lombardo says:

    I like this picture alot !! .. .. It tells me, “NOW where should I go today look” .. .. I love to drive my car everywhere too !! .. .. On an impulse, I’ll just go to somehere I haven’t been before .. I especially LOVE to travel the backroads of California and stumble on some small quaint town and ole bars or saloons and make new friends !! .. .. NOTHING LIKE IT !! .. ..

    Like

    1. So true! It’s fun to travel the backroads and discover something new. One of the towns I discovered when I lived there was Rough and Ready, CA. Population 150. It’s more or less a ghost town now. Thanks for your comment, Frank.

      Like

Say something! Let me know what you're thinkin' ...

