Have We Stopped Listening?

What an insightful teabag!  I seem to recall an old saying about having two ears and one mouth for a reason.  Maybe we need to listen more and talk less.  Did I get this message today because there’s someone I need to listen to more?  Maybe.  I don’t think there are any accidents … especially these days.

I really believe it’s true that people just want to be heard.  In the early days of my career in the staffing industry, I was with a company that took great pride in customer service.  They actually provided us with training seminars on the art of listening.  It paid off.  Whenever I encountered a client that wasn’t happy about something, I listened.  Then I fed back to them what I understood their concerns to be.  99% of the time, after they were finished talking I asked the questions, “Is there anything else?” and “What can I do to make this up to you?”  Their answer was “It’s OK.  I just wanted to get it off my chest” (or something along those lines).

Is there someone you could comfort by listening to?  Namaste.

Author: Regina

Passionate about writing, photography, and helping others achieve the success they desire.

Say something! Let me know what you're thinkin' ...

