Belly Fat Begone!

The reason I’m posting a picture of today’s lunch is that my WS (wonderful spouse) and I are on the South Beach diet.  Actually, I hate the word diet, so I’m going to stick with new, healthy eating plan.  It consists mainly of lean protein, plenty of veggies, some good fats, and basically VERY LOW carbs.  No white sugar at all.  Anything white we just don’t eat.  Now there are many, many, many diets and eating plans out there, but most are hard to stick to and require some real concentration (stress) on what to do and what not to do.  What to mix with what, etc.  These days I’m into simple.  So for us this is rather simple.  Anyway, I’m not promoting any diets here, but my WS suggested I take a picture of his lunch plate, so I did.

There is one thing I can recommend, though, even if you’re not watching your weight.  I’m using My Fitness Pal to record what I eat and how much water I drink.  Truly an eye-opener and it’s totally free.  It keeps count of calories, carbs, fat and protein.  For those of us who love chocolate (and we know who we are, right, Zannyro?) there’s always the Hershey’s sugar-free dark chocolate.  It does the trick for me.  Will I have to cheat once in a while and have a piece of carrot cake or something like that?  Yes!  Once in a while but not often.  I like how I feel now without the carbs/sugar.  Namaste’

Low-fat cottage cheese, grape tomatoes, Hebrew National 97% fat-free beef dogs, and baked zucchini with parmesan, olive oil and garlic.  I had one dog; WS had two 😉

Author: Regina

Passionate about writing, photography, and helping others achieve the success they desire.

8 thoughts on “Belly Fat Begone!”

  1. I love MyFitnessPal. I’ve been using that for months, and it’s eye opening when you realize what you’re actually eating. I wasn’t getting enough calories and I was eating way too much sodium. Good luck on your new, healthy eating plan 🙂

    Like

  2. LOVE this!! Good luck with the new healthy eating plan. I changed my eating lifestyle a few years ago and it was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. I have a history of heart disease in my family, and I wanted to make sure I was preventative and proactive versus reactive. I’ve lost weight and I feel WONDERFUL!

    One crutch for me has always been sugar in my coffee. 😦 I like sweet coffee. I don’t drink any soda ever, and very little juice. I’m mostly a water guy. But I do love my sweet coffee in the morning. But I realized last week that had to change too.

    I’m now on day five of drinking coffee black. Not the same, but I know in the long run it’s better for me. Thanks for keeping me inspired!!!

    Like

    1. OOOOOOH … I know what you mean. I switched to Stevia a couple of years ago and had to use only a half packet because it’s so sweet, but all natural; no chemicals. I’ll go down fighting before I give up my coffee or a good glass of Merlot occasionally. So here’s to eating healthier … cheers!

      Like

Say something! Let me know what you're thinkin' ...

