Ye Olde Bicycle Rack

on

This is a bicycle rack in front of a restaurant that I’ve been to often and never even noticed it.  Normally I park in a different spot but today there it was … right in front of me.  The designer made it look somewhat old and yet new because the handlebars look like a 10-speed.  Photographing this made me think of my first bicycle when I was about eight years old.  It was the classic Pee Wee Herman style with fenders, fat tires and all, and I absolutely loved that bike!  Me and my bike spent many happy days riding the brick streets of Marysville, Kansas (yes, that’s where I hail from originally).

My best friend and I would play chicken and unfortunately for me, no one chickened out so my front fender got rather crinkled a few times.  I would take it to my Grandpa; he would scold me, but then pound out the dents.  (I, to this very day, think I had the best Grandpa in the entire cosmos).  We had an arrangement … he wouldn’t tell my Mom if I promised to stop playing chicken.  Uh, that didn’t work out so well, but that’s a story for another day – lol!

I wish I still had the bike but if I close my eyes, I can see it plain as day, feel my feet on the pedals and the vibration of riding on those brick streets.  I knew where every crack in the bricks was and how to swerve around them.  Wow!  What a feeling!  Namaste’

 

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. bulldogsturf says:

    How beautiful… and so different to the normal… no sign needed there…

    Like

    1. Thanks so much! I miss my bike now.

      Like

  2. Jeremy says:

    Love it! and the color of the concrete is great!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Jeremy. It’s a cool place; people like to hang out there.

      Like

  3. mehmudah says:

    Totally awesome shot!!

    Like

  4. Gina , I think my bike was just like yours. I never played chicken
    though, who would want to, with my three brothers, they would
    have killed me. I also love the concrete, it’s cool. I hated those
    kind of handlebars, the old ones were more my style.

    Like

    1. Me, too. I loved the coaster brakes and straight handlebars. What fun those old bikes were!

      Like

Say something! Let me know what you're thinkin' ...

