Angled

Today’s photo was taken in our back yard of the only barrel cactus that is left.  When we moved in the back yard had quite a few but with our two wonderful doggies, we had to move some out.  This particular one is getting fruit and blooming again.  It sits behind a little fence to keep the dogs out and I had to take the photo at an angle.  If one of these barbs gets into ANYTHING, it’s really tough to remove them.  You can see the hooks at the ends.  Mother Nature is pretty creative, isn’t she?  Another one of those “look but don’t touch” desert things.  Namaste’

4 Comments Add yours

  1. bulldogsturf says:

    I wonder why this one didn’t make it to my inbox… Lovely photo… if one of those barbs gets you is it also poisonous.. ??

    Like

    1. Now that’s a good question. I kind of doubt it but don’t want to find out first hand. These barrel cacti are everywhere around southern Arizona. I sometimes wonder how the rabbits, running from the coyotes, manage to miss these menacing barbs. I call them “rascal rabbits.” They’re so cute!

      Like

  2. mehmudah says:

    Just gorgeous. Missed your blog

    Like

    1. Nice to see you back! I’ve been so crazy busy but am trying to get caught up with blogs I follow as well. Be well and stay blessed, dear one.

      Like

Say something! Let me know what you're thinkin' ...

