Seems Like Yesterday – But Not Quite

Today’s photos are of an old recipe book and an actual recipe for cheese cookies that I used in my high school Home Economics class, which was … uh … 47 years ago.   The cheese cookies are so easy and make a great canape’ for cocktail parties.  I haven’t made these in a long time so maybe one of these days I will.  I noticed that my handwriting was a LOT better then than it is now.

Side note: In high school I had three very close friends.  We liked to ditch school once in a while and we actually got away with it.  Why?  Because I was very good at forging their mothers’ handwriting and writing their excuse notes.  Then one day we decided to go to my house in the middle of the day and thought we were being sneaky by putting my friend’s car in the garage. Well, my nosy neighbor happened to see us and called my Mom at work.  Needless to say I was grounded for a month and couldn’t even use the phone.  Did it stop us from cutting school after that?  What do you think?

So that’s my bit of nostalgia for the day.  Namaste’

8 Comments Add yours

  1. bulldogsturf says:

    Gina you are such a Angel now…. It’s hard to believe that you bunked school… I love it, having been a bit of a baddy at school myself…

    Like

    1. OH, the masks we wear – LOL! As kids we just have to test the system, don’t we? Now as an adult, I’m coming around again and testing the system in new and different ways.

      Like

  2. Kay Rolfe says:

    When I was in the eight grade we were allowed to go home for lunch. A few of us went to our friend’s house and decided to ditch because her parents were out of town. My brother and I lived with my Mother and Grandmother. I called the school and pretended to be my Grandma and told them that I came home sick and she was keeping me home for the rest of the day.

    When I got home my brother was working on his 55 Chevy in the driveway. He said “They know you ditched and if I were you I would go tell them ….might go easier on you.” He never looked up from working on the engine. Of course the school knew I was not my Grandma on the phone and called her. So…..I went in and confessed.

    The three of us were grounded and had to go speak to the principle the next day. He was a tall man but to me he was about nine feet tall.

    I never cut Junior High again but when I moved to Van Nuys High we would cut after roll call in third period and go to the beach. Surf’s up!

    Being at the beach when we were supposed to be in school was a great wicked teenage thrill.

    Like

    1. Ha! I knew we were soul sisters 🙂 Glad to know I’m not the only one who did this and lived to tell about it – LOL

      Like

  3. Patti says:

    You wild thing… If todays high school kids just ditched school like many of us did wouldn’t that be soooo innocent . Cookies? Why haven’t you made those for Happy Trails? Are you holding out on us? 🍣

    Like

    1. Yep, I pulled some shenanigans. I’ll make the cookies 🙂

      Like

  4. Gigi says:

    I love the picture of your old cookbook. It looks like my old Betty Crocker. The one I begged my mother for when I was 9 years old and still use to this day.

    I loved home ec classes. I learned to sew and cook. They don’t even teach that any more.

    I was a goody goody in school and can honestly say I never did anything bad. I was the teacher’s pet. Looking back now, I hate that I was so good. If I had it to do over I would try everything possible and I would not be so good.

    Like

    1. It’s never too late to start, Gigi 🙂 I can understand how much you loved home ec. I learned so much; even made a lined two-piece suit. So sad that they don’t teach it anymore. They should also be teaching the truth to the kids about where money really comes from and how to balance a checkbook.

      Like

Say something! Let me know what you're thinkin' ...

