Mike’s Mail

Today is the second anniversary of my brother’s passing.  It’s a sad day for me.  I miss him.  We didn’t always get along well, but isn’t that the way it is with most siblings?  He’s the only one I had and being older than me, the one I looked up to for lots of things.

So now I just tuck little notes to him occasionally into Mike’s Mail.  It’s a ceramic mail holder that I had made for him many years ago.  Mike loved to play golf so it had to be about golf, of course 🙂  Now it sits on my desk, next to my computer.

I just learned yesterday that one of his granddaughters, a senior in high school, took a few trophies recently for her school’s golf team.  I’m sure that whatever dimension he’s in, Mike is smiling on her.

The bottom photo is a collage I did of him about a year ago.  Mike loved to clown around and as you can see, was having a little fun sticking his head out through the sun roof of his car.  Being that he was a joker, sometimes it was hard to know if he was pulling my leg or not.  Playing Texas Hold ‘Em with him was a real challenge.  He had the perfect poker face, although I did manage to beat him a couple of times 🙂  Namaste’

 

Author: Regina

Passionate about writing, photography, and helping others achieve the success they desire.

8 thoughts on “Mike’s Mail”

  1. Here’s to your brother. Happy trails Mike.

    Until I was five my older brother, my only sibling, my mother and father and I lived on a ranch outside of town. I had no other contact with children except occasional migrant farm worker’s kids.

    My brother wanted to play war all the time. I was a little girl and wanted no part of it. He told me that the children of the world were at war but the grown-ups new nothing about it so we couldn’t tell our parents. I fought the war with him with pop-guns, completely terrified at all times. He was my big brother so of course I believed him.

    When we moved into town I still thought we were at war and was scared for my life of other children.

    He had forgotten about it of course.

    I cherish that memory as I am sure you do your memories of Mike.

    Hugs

    Like

Say something! Let me know what you're thinkin' ...

