The Pine Cone

WS found this pine cone in our back yard not too long ago.  I just now decided to photograph it.

One would think that there aren’t pine trees in southern AZ but there are … at a higher elevation than where we live.  So how did this pine cone end up in our yard?  (We don’t have any pine trees on our property at all).  Was it carried by an owl, a hawk or some other large bird?  Could be … still a mystery to me.  Namaste’

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Kay Rolfe says:

    You were visited by The Pinecone
    fairies.

    Like

    1. I guess so! I’ll be they’re cute.

      Like

  2. bulldogsturf says:

    Do you get tornadoes there…. I’ve often wondered what happens to all that debris that you see picked up by them….

    Like

    1. No we don’t get tornadoes but we do get wind. I’m grateful that we don’t get tornadoes after living in Kansas as a child. One hit my grandparents’ house in the 50’s. It was awful.

      Like

      1. bulldogsturf says:

        We see those things on the TV and I would hate to live anywhere near them… but I do still wonder where all that debris goes… one could find all sorts after one of those goes through..

        Like

      2. They can be devastating to say the least. The one that hit my grandparents’ house took their porch swing and landed it two blocks away on top the local theater. It was intact. Amazing!

        Like

Say something! Let me know what you're thinkin' ...

