Are We There Yet?

Are we there yet?  Is it the end of the year when I get to stop posting a photo a day?  OK, OK, I shouldn’t be complaining.  I’m the one who signed up for this and made the commitment.  Someone asked me today why I did it and my instant reply was that it was a commitment I made to myself, and a new adventure.  The truth is that I have received so much personally from this endeavor … more than words can adequately express.

You see, I’ve met some extraordinary people – fellow bloggers who are doing the photo a day project and some who are not.  I just like what they have to say and share with the rest of us.  I like who they are as people; as contributors to this beautiful planet we live on.  I would probably never know what Istanbul looks like if it weren’t for Nia and Africa if not for Bulldog. So many others, too, and not enough time to name them all. And I’ve gotten closer to people whom I already knew but felt free to make comments on my posts.  It brought out a dialogue that we might not have had.

And last, but certainly not least … looking at the world through a camera lens has proven to me beyond a shadow of a doubt that there is such beauty in the things that we take for granted like shoes, petrified cacti, rain water on a driveway, a bumper sticker on a car, statues, a celery stump and people on the street.  I could go on and on but I won’t.  Time is short and there’s some frozen yogurt calling my name right now 🙂

I still haven’t caught up with everyone’s blog postings that I follow.  Hopefully I’ll get there soon.  Today’s photo is of some poinsettias I spotted while shopping.  I underexposed to bring out some texture in the leaves.  Red is just so darn hard for me to shoot.  Namaste’

18 Comments

  1. Thanks Gina.. to think you are learning a little about my country without me really meaning it.. is wonderful news… I enjoy learning about the USA as well… having been there once and seeing so little in such a little time, I know exactly what you mean… there are so many wonderful and interesting blogs that it is difficult to slow down… this never started for me as a blog a day etc, yet now that I’m here I can’t stop myself… it is almost like a drug, and one feels let down if you can’t get onto the Internet to view and comment.. I am going away on the 14th of next month till the middle of January, going to my son and he’s taking us to places we’ve never been before… and guess what.. there is no internet, cell phones etc… I’m excited about that yet worry how I’ll ever catch up, yet feel obligated to… and I wonder why we have to catch up.?? no one is paying us to, but I’m scared I might miss something… Gina it is a pleasure following you…

    Like

    1. You’re absolutely right. It does become addicting and I think the reason for that is the connection that we all feel through our blogs, and our faithful readers. We’ll all miss you for a month, Bulldog. Talk about withdrawals. Thanks for being a faithful follower. You have a wonderful time on your trip. Just enjoy life.

      Like

  2. Hi Gina,
    Pretty poinsettias and lovely sentiments. It’s been fun following you. I didn’t comment daily, however I did read and enjoy daily. When I felt moved to comment I did. I hope you continue. It’s been fun. Happy holidays.
    Gigi

    Like

  3. Lovely photo Gina! I hope you don’t stop after the year is up, I have enjoyed your photos so much and agree with everything you said. I too have been so inspired and enriched by the amazing work of other artists around the world. Congratulations for keeping the commitment to yourself!

    Like

  4. NO FAIR! You can’t stop. It doesn’t matter if it has been an awful day opening your blog changes the climate and gives me something cool to look forward to. Here’s an idea. You don’t have to go out and shoot a photo everyday just pick one out of your archives and use it with your heartfelt musings for the day. I’m a Regina Chronicle junkie and will have to go into rehab if you stop.

    Like

    1. OMG! OK! Good grief! Such pressure. I guess I won’t stop. But there might be some re-blogging going on, which is something that’s fun to do anyway. That means I’ll be re-posting some others’ blog posts that are especially cool, like Nia, Zannyro and Bulldog … just to name a few. Good grie

      Like

  5. Congratulations on nearing the completion of your commitment :)…..it’s a huge accomplishment…..and now you get to breathe a little…just don’t forget to say hi and share your world with us every now and again….I have a feeling that I need to change course and even have a post coming up vaguely mentioning that….but I think I’m like Bulldog…could this be an addiction???……..congrats again…you’re the best 🙂 p.s….I tried to do a post thanking you and Bulldog for helping me to expand my world and get my photography more exposure…I’ll try again to get the post up..but I do want to make sure to say “THANK YOU GINA”!!! I now have a place on fineartamerica :)….how does it feel to know that you helped someone follow a dream?

    Like

    1. I found your fineartamerica site and it’s spectacular! Best of luck with sales. Your art is so original. And it was my pleasure if I helped in some way.

      I will continue to post as I find things worth sharing. What’s weird is that WP no longer sends me notifications of new posts for all of the blogs I follow. I tried fixing it but can’t seem to get there from here.

      Like

      1. How weird…I’ve noticed that a few that I follow aren’t popping up and when I check my settings, it all looks o.k…..I wonder what’s up…..
        I’d like to change things up on my blog….but we’ll see…..

        Like

Say something! Let me know what you're thinkin' ...

