An Open Letter to Forgiveness

Dear Forgiveness,

You’re giving me such a hard time right now.  My ego says “That person hurt you and someone you love!  Don’t let ’em get away with that!  You have a right to be angry and upset.”

Then there’s YOU who says, “Never does the human soul appear so strong and noble as when it forgoes revenge and dares to forgive injury.“   (Edwin Hubbel Chapin Universalist minister, author)

I guess I’ll try and remember that and, for your sake and mine, I will not send the nasty letter I was going to send.  But I think I’ll write it anyway, just to get it off my chest. Then I’ll probably burn it.

Is that bad?

Forgiveness

Author: Regina

Passionate about writing, photography, and helping others achieve the success they desire.

10 thoughts on “An Open Letter to Forgiveness”

  1. I like your honesty! Forgiveness and ego does not go hand in hand. One over rides the other, but never work along side by side. Forgiveness is for you, and as for the wrong doer, he/she only reaps the benefit of you forgiving to set your self free. Enjoy the life of forgiveness!

    Like

  2. Hey there, Gina:

    A couple of things …

    During the American Civil War Lincoln wrote his letter to one of his general’s – all his criticism, all his direction and directives and how the general had fallen short of his expectations – and then realized the state of his general and the effect the letter would have upon the general. He wrote it, but never sent it. He recognized that it would dismantle their relationship and demoralize his general.

    Good journaling methods do something similar to what you propose; they allow you to speak to the other even though you may never actually speak to them or share your words with them. It’s healthy if you take the time to write it out because you’ll burrow down accurately to the core issue and may recognize with insight how it’s been building and many elements that are also at play. Where the danger is, is if your examination of all that’s at play is incomplete … it might be worth doing over a few days.

    And, finally, it’s wise to forgive for what you understand at the point you are at, recognizing that you may forgive for more as you understand more of what’s at play.

    I’m not sure where you’re at with things – when things are close to home, it’s likely close family or friends that wound us and we often feel betrayal. At other times, it seems that that friend or family member is acting without any good understanding of us or our time together.

    Forgiveness is a part of my summer, too.

    Sorry to hear about Phoenix’s rain back in July.

    Take good care of your best self.

    May grace find, hold and help you. 😉

    Like

    1. Thanks so much for your sage advice. I have decided to forgive and forget, and yes, I will write the letter, but it will not be mailed. I do journal and find it provides freedom in so many ways. Thanks for your concern and best of luck with your summer forgiveness, too.

      Like

  3. Write the letter… then decide if you want to send it or not… I do that often just to get things off my chest… find it works, never send the letters but once written I find it far easier to forgive and forget…

    Like

Say something! Let me know what you're thinkin' ...

