Letters to Marilyn

Have you ever started a journal or diary only to keep up with it for a while and then, slowly but surely, your entries dwindled down to nothing?  We start out with good intentions, trying to capture our lives on a blank sheet of paper.  And then the internal critic and/or editor takes over … ahhh, yes, that part of the mind that says “who cares what you have to say.”  “Really?  You’re writing down what you had for dinner?”

Or your English teacher from high school somehow creeps back into your head and you find yourself hearing that voice about verbs, nouns, adjectives and prepositions.  Or worse yet … handwriting.  I can hear mine now, “Watch your penmanship!”  OMG!

Well … (drum roll please) … I’ve found the solution to all those self-sabotaged attempts to put my life on paper.

LETTERS TO MARILYN. (photo below)

Someone once suggested that I write to someone, anyone, living or dead, fictional or non-fictional character – in my journal – so that my inner critic has to take a hike.  So I’ve chosen to write to Marilyn.  I love Marilyn, and since she’s already gone to that big Hollywood in the sky, she can’t say anything, can she?  And if she could, I think she would be honored that I chose to write to her.  But the sole purpose of me writing to Marilyn is for me to get my thoughts onto the page.   I could write to Batman, Robin, the Joker, Buddha, Lincoln, Mother Teresa, the pope … anybody!  So can you.

To my English teacher and my inner critics I say:  A done “something” is better than a perfect “nothing.”  I have the feeling that my kids and grandkids might find a few chuckles in these pages after I’m gone.  They’ll also find out things about me that I probably didn’t think to tell them while I’m still putting one foot in front of the other here on this planet.

So here’s to you and me, Marilyn … may you hear from me for a long, long time.  Namaste’

Letters to Marilyn2blog

Author: Regina

Passionate about writing, photography, and helping others achieve the success they desire.

4 thoughts on “Letters to Marilyn”

Say something! Let me know what you're thinkin' ...

