Stunned

on

As I was getting out of the shower this morning I heard a loud thud. It sounded like something hit the dining room window. Upon investigating I noticed a smear on the glass, looked down and saw this little hawk on the ground.

The poor thing had smacked into the window and sat there stunned, looking around like it didn’t know what happened. As I started taking pictures, I was just praying that it didn’t have any broken parts. It kept looking up at me and I didn’t know quite what to do. Thoughts ran through my mind of quickly finding a wildlife refuge to call in case it couldn’t recover, but right after I took this image, it started walking around a bit. A couple of minutes later, looking back at me once more, it turned and flew off into a nearby pine tree. It was almost like he was saying, “I’m OK now.” I was so happy!

Fly free, little hawk, and thanks for letting me take your picture. I hope you don’t fly into any more windows. You might not be so lucky next time. Namaste’

04.26.15Hawk

Regina (Reggie) is a “flunked retirement” entrepreneur, co-author of the Art & Science of Recruiting, an award-winning photographic artist, and photo blogger.

 

 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. niasunset says:

    So beautiful dear Regina, and I hope too not again. The most beautiful part of this story, you captured so nicely, Thank you, have a nice day and new week, love, nia

    Like

    1. Reggie says:

      Thank you, my dear Nia! I’m so happy that all turned out well with this little guy. Maybe it was a girl … I don’t know. Never been this close to a hawk before. Much love to you!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. bulldog says:

    This always surprises me of hawks… surely they wouldn’t enter ones house. .. so why fly into the window… this happens quite often in the house in Pretoria but then the reflection in the window is trees and more trees, so the bird gets a little confused… we tested by placing a x of tape on the window… it seemed to work, the birds don’t hit the window that often now…. I still find it hard to believe that they don’t see through the window and realise that the inside is enclosed…

    Like

    1. Reggie says:

      I think I’ll try the X. Sure can’t hurt. I don’t want to see this happen again or worse. Thanks for the tip, Rob.

      Like

  3. Anne Hewitt says:

    Beautiful little fellow and a great photo shot!  I’m so glad he is okay.

    Like

    1. Reggie says:

      Thanks, Anne. He’s a resilient fellow. And I’m glad he was.

      Like

  4. Kay Rolfe says:

    One very beautiful and very lucky bird.

    Like

    1. Reggie says:

      It was truly amazing to watch him. I’ve always loved these birds. Maybe he just came to visit but wasn’t planning on the glass 🙂

      Like

  5. I had a small bird crash into my front door window last year and it sat there stunned for quite a while. I didn’t think it was going to make it. My biggest concern was that a feral cat would get it before it recovered so I watched it for a while to keep away predators. It finally got up and walked off and pretty soon it flew off. Scared me though.

    Like

Say something! Let me know what you're thinkin' ...

