An Uninvited Guest

Today’s post and photo is about the unwanted guest my husband found in the garage workroom.  Poor little thing … he or she was making a home out there and apparently couldn’t find its way out again.  I didn’t want to unfold it’s wings because I wasn’t sure how long ago it died and thought it might fall apart.  I used a bounce flash to try and bring out some of the details.  I had no idea they are so furry. Fun facts about bats.  Namaste.

Front view
Side View

Author: Regina

Passionate about writing, photography, and helping others who are in the grieving process.

12 thoughts on “An Uninvited Guest”

  1. Gina,
    What great pictures. I love bats and have never understood why they are so feared. When I lived in NY I had a bat house (think bird house only for bats.) I always hoped to get a bat family, but one never took up residence. I think it was because I lived too close to the woods and they probably had plenty of places to call home.
    Thanks for the picture.
    Gigi

    Like

  2. I like them, too and like you, have never seen one up close and personal like this. Normally they’re flying so fast at dusk, it’s hard to capture any of them in a photo. It just turns out to be a black silhouette against a sunset. Thanks for your comment, Wes.

    Like

  3. Last year I took a mother and baby bat to a local vet that had fallen from a building. The baby was dead but the mother could be saved. In Britain we have laws that protect bats from being interfered with.

    Like

Say something! Let me know what you're thinkin' ...